The James Graham Building was constructed in 1910 and was built with two
interior courtyards. In the 1960s, the western courtyard was filled in at ground floor
level to extend the site library. The eastern courtyard was retained and landscaped to
create an ecological garden - both for its aesthetics and for its use as a research
This eastern courtyard was identified as the only suitable space for conversion into a
lecture theatre 'complex'. Luckily, by this time, the academic department that had
used the garden had moved to another site and no longer required this resource.
The University had some experience at building lecture theatres as some had been
provided a few years previously at the city centre site.